Stamp and Coin Museum
The Museum is composed of two showrooms :
• the main room presents the complete chronology of currencies, since 1641, and Monegasque stamps, since 1885, as well as temporary thematic exhibitions; the public can discover plasters used in the process of striking of currencies, the awls and all the documents which participate to the issuing of stamps, and to admire a machine copperplate engraving which printed the stamps of Monaco during more than 60 years; a broadcasting zone allows to discover a film of presentation of the philatelic history, of the manufacture and of marketing of stamps and an encyclopaedic computer border concerning monegasque philately and numismatic,
• the room of the rare stamps, the real case, shelters préphilatelic documents, Sardinian and French stamps used in Principality ("precursors") and the first Monegasque stamps of the administrations of Charles III and Louis II ("classics") ; it is in this safe that were presented to the public the four Exhibitions of " 100 stamps and philatelic documents among the rarest of the world ".
Open daily :
1st October to 30th June, 10am – 5pm
1st July to 30th September, 10am – 6pm
Visit duration : 1 hour.
11 terrasses de Fontvieille